Home / News > World Series Darts Finals 2018

World Series of Darts Finalas 2018


World Series of Darts Finals

Muliversum, Vienna

The PDC World Series of Darts is a non-raking darts event and comprises of a number of Series Tournaments held across the World. Initially, the World Series consisted of just two events but has now expanded due to the enormous popularity if the event.

The series consists of a mixture of the top-ranked PDC players playing against local qualifiers in a straight knockout contest. Since 2015, there have been annual finals and until now these have all been held in Glasgow, Scotland. The 2018 finals, however, have a new location, Vienna's Multiversum.

The World Series of Darst Finals will be held 2-4th November and comprises of twenty-four top dart players competing for a total prize find £250,000. Fans can watch the event live via ITVSport / ITV4 in the UK and Worldwide via the PDC’s own international Broadcast.

This year will see an open field as not one of the players has dominated the 2018 series. However, the reigning champion Michael van Gerwen is listed third in the World Series Order of Merit, however, he has shown recent good form by winning the World Grand Prix earlier this month.

Peter WRight - World Series of Darts - German Masters WinnerEach of the World Series events held across the world has been promoted and sponsored by different global brands and online bookmakers. Further supporters of darts can be found here Casinopedia.org where you will find many expert reviews, guides and useful articles to all things related to the wide world of online casinos.

Joining Micheal in the World Series Finals will be the top eight players from the World Series Order of Merit. This year the World Series Order of Merit consisted of six global events.

This means reigning champion Michael van Gerwen, the winner of the Auckland Masters this year - qualifies alongside other 2018 series champions Peter Wright, Rob Cross, Gary Anderson, Michael Smith and Mensur Suljovic.

In addition to the series winners, Raymond van Barneveld and Simon Whitlock also qualify from the World Series Order of Merit.

These eight players are joined by the top four non-qualified players from the PDC Order of Merit, Daryl Gurney, Dave Chisnall, Ian White and Gerwyn Price.

Eight players have also been invited to compete based on their World Series of Darts Order of Merit ranking, there are James Wade and Dimitri van den Bergh who was a German Darts Masters finalist.

Eight other invited players are Australians Kyle Anderson, Damon Heta and Raymond Smith, World Championship semi-finalist Jamie Lewis and Canadian youngster Dawson Murschell.

Australian, Corey Cadby, was also one of the eight invited to play, however, Cory had to withdraw following an accident that left his left arm broken. Corey was a passenger in a car accident and will be unable to compete until his arm is mended. Corey’s replacement will be Hong Kong's Royden Lam, who was next in line for a place.

The final four places in the 24-player field were taken by players in the PDC Tour Card Holders' Qualifier in Barnsley on Friday, 19th October.


2018 Provisional Field

Top Eight from World Series Order of Merit, Four non-qualified players from the PDC Order of Merit, Four Tour Card Holders Qualifies, plus Eight invited players from the World Series Order of Merit.

(Seeded & Enter in Round Two)

Seeded Player PDC Order of Merit Invited From WSOM
1 Peter Wright Daryl Gurney James Wade
2 Rob Cross Dave Chisnall Dimitri Van den Bergh
3 Michael van Gerwen Ian White Kyle Anderson
4 Gary Anderson Gerwyn Price Damon Heta
5 Michael Smith Keegan Brown * Raymond Smith
6 Raymond van Barneveld Ross Smith * Jamie Lewis
7 Mensur Suljovic Maik Langendorf * Dawson Murschell
8 Simon Whitlock Stve Beaton * Royden Lam


* The remaining four places were decided on Friday, 19th October at the Barnsley Metrodome (Tour Card Qualifiers)


PDC World Series of Darts Past Winners

Year Champion Legs   Legs Runner-up
2018 TBC 0 - 0 TBC
2017 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 6 Gary Anderson
2016 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 9 Peter Wright
2015 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 10 Peter Wright



Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers