Home / News > World Cup of Darts

World Cup of Darts


World Cup of Darts

Thirty-two nations will descend on the Sparkassen Arena in Jena, Germany, 9-12th September for the 10th World Cup of Darts. One of the darts calendar highlights is the international competition comprising mainly the top two players from each country.

Top nations will be no surprise to dart fans, and in the past events, only four nations have lifted the World Cup Trophy. England and the Netherlands have won four times, Scotland and Wales, the current holders, just once.

Eight groups of four team nations compete initially in a round-robin event. The top two nations then progress to the straight knockout stages. The round-robin phase means if a nation loses their first round, they are not out and can still qualify for the knockouts.

The short format of the rounds means this event can bring upsets, and nations not typically associated with a large dart base community can do well.

Canada will face the host nation Germany in their opening round. Both countries have in the past had some good success stories. John Part, a Canadian international, has won the World Champions three times, once under the BDO and twice within the PDC. The Canadian have the pedigree and might be and could be a dark horse in this race, odds can be found at the online betting sites in Canada, which may favour the host nation, and punters will also find some welcome offers.

Wales initially ranked third should not be underestimated.  Gerwyn Price, the current PDC World Darts Champion and Jonny Claytonthe Current PDC Premier League Champion, form the Welsh team.

Gerwyn recently added to his growing list of dart titles by winning the Hungarian Masters in front of a 5,000 capacity crowd. The Welshman has shown he is on form, and to win the World Cup for a second time would be something both Gerwyn and his teammate will be hoping to achieve.

Scotland will be without one of its main players. Gary Anderson has pulled out of the event, and he will be replaced with John Henderson, known as the Highlander. John is no newby and is a force to be reckoned with. Whether this will weaken Scotlands changes, only time will tell. The change has meant Scotland initially seeded two full to six and Wales moved from third to second. Early bets may have favoured the punters!

Greece also replace Croatia as Boris Krcmar's has withdrawn due to illness


Nations First Round Draw. (Seeds shown in brackets)

(1) England v Brazil
(2) Wales v Finland
(3) Netherlands v Denmark
(4) Belgium v Greece
(5) Northern Ireland  v Hong Kong
(6) Scotland v China
(7) Australia v Italy
(8) Germany  v Canada
Austria v Philippines
Czech Republic  v Poland
Gibraltar v Singapore
Hungary  v Lithuania
Republic of Ireland  v Portugal
Russia v Japan
Spain v South Africa
USA v Sweden


The recent and unexpected death of Australian darts player Kyle Anderson at 33 years was a shock to all. The players started a fundraiser for Kyle’s young family. Simon Whitlock, who will feature in the Australian team, said he would donate his first-round World Cup winnings to Kyle’s family. Many other players have donated signed shirts, darts for auction in this fundraiser organised by Demon Heta.


Top Dart Nations to look out for

Besides, Wales, England and the Netherlands have both been front runners in this competition and are likely to be part of the knockout mix again. Germany, the host nation, has seen a surge in darts in recent years, and local support will no dought play a part in support of the home nation.

However, it is likely to be the round-robin phase that will capture the primary attention as Russia takes on Japan and Gibraltar take on Singapore. Some of these nations are known for soft-tip darts, not stell tip, which some argue is more demanding. Betting on the early round might bring you some more significant rewards, but what is for sure, thirty-two nations will be tuning in to watch one of the hardest fought dart competitions on the planet.


Previous World Cup Winners.








2020 Wales 3 - 0 England
2019 Scotland 3 - 1 Republic of Ireland
2018 Netherlands 3 - 1 Scotland
2017 Netherlands 3 - 1 Wales
2016 England 3 - 2 Netherlands
2015 England 3 - 2 Scotland
2014 Netherlands 3 - 0 England
2013 England 3 - 1 Belgium
2012 England 4* - 3* Australia
2010 Netherlands 4 - 2 Wales

* England won the title on the sudden death doubles leg.
1 point allocated to a match win either singles or doubles




Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers