Home / News > The PDC World Championship Draw 2021/22


PDC World Championship Draw 2022


The PDC World Championship Draw 2021/22

2021/22 will oversee the 29th iteration of the PDC World Darts Championship, which is so far shaping up to be an unmissable event for all sporting fanatics.

Ahead of the event, fans have already been given an early glimpse of some eagerly anticipated opening round matchups following on from the recent PDC World Championship Draw.

The build-up to the heavily anticipated 2022 PDC World Darts Championship is soon building to a crescendo as the world’s most elite names look to battle it out to take home the coveted Sid Waddell trophy.

This year’s event will take place from the 15th December until the 3rd January 2022, where fans of all things’ darts will be treated to a plethora of sublime action featuring the world’s most established names.

While the event will be in the midst of the always festive period of mid-December to early January, fans are also expected to pack out the Alexandra Palace in the heart of London.

The Palace is arguably the most prestigious venue for any darts event and has since witnessed several phenomenal moments throughout the sports’ tenure.

The 2021/22 event is expected to be no different and is further anticipated to offer a range of impeccable moments and highlight plays that could be soon discussed for years on end.

Much like other major sporting tournaments or cup competitions, the PDC World Championship has already issued its confirmed fixtures for the opening round of the World Championship tournament.

With the days now counting down until the opening fixtures, it’s essential to look at the most heavily anticipated fixtures for the opening round and which names could already emerge as early favourites to take home the Sid Waddell trophy.


Gerwyn Price PDC World Champion 2021


Gerwyn Price opens his championship defence against either Ritchie Edhouse or Lihao Wen:

Reigning and now defending PDC World Champion Gerwyn Price will look to lay claim to the championship title at this year’s event but is expected to face further stiff competition against some of the other elite name’s that the sport has to offer.

Price’s aspirations will be under the cosh in the opening round as he is scheduled to face-off against either 80th seed Ritchie Edhouse or Chinese superstar Lihao Wen.

Price will be heading into the tournament as the reigning champion. He is still a lively favourite to win the event across a successive period and become the first name to win back-to-back titles since Gary Anderson in 2015 and 2016.

If Price completes this feat, he will also enter an elite list of names who have also won the PDC World Darts Championships on consecutive occasions. These include Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis, and Gary Anderson, which is certainly an esteemed company.

Fans who are actively looking to place their bets for who they predict will be taking home the Sid Waddell trophy are able to choose from an extensive list of darts bookmakers on Gambling.com, with the latest darts odds now available to all eager betting sports fans.

Current odds state that Price stands as the perennial favourite at 4/1 with Dutch sensation Michael Van Gerwen at 9/2 and Peter Wright at 13/2.

Other notable favourites include Jonny Clayton at 7/1, Dimitri Van Den Bergh 14/1, Michael Smith 25/1, with Jose De Sousa and Rob Cross both being ranked at 28/1.


Van Gerwen vs Barstow/Norman Jr. and Wright vs Meikle/Schmutzler:

The aforementioned Michael Van Gerwen and Peter Wright will also be in action in heavily anticipated second round affairs against opponents that will face off in the first round to decide who will take on the former world champions.

Van Gerwen is a three-time world champion and will have to wait until the evening session during the Saturday 18th December broadcast of the event before he can once assert his dominance and sight his championship aspirations.

‘Mighty Mike’ has been drawn against the winner of Chas Barstow and John Norman Jr.’s first-round match that is due to take place in the afternoon session of the 16th December broadcast.

2020 World Champion Peter Wright will also return to action at this year’s tournament and is now hot on the heels of claiming his second world championship trophy after a phenomenal series against Ryan Searle at the Players Championship only weeks ago.

Much like his long-time rival Van Gerwen, Wright will also have to wait until the winner of Ryan Meikle and Fabian Schmutzler’s encounter before stepping up to the board on the 17th December  Evening session.


Michael van Gerwen Former PDC World Darts Champion


Other Notable Matchups:

Fallon Sherrock has become a mainstay in the darts landscape after reaching the Quarter-Finals of the Grand Slam.

Sherrock will take on Steve Beaton during the evening session on 19th December, where she previously became the first female darts player to defeat a male competitor in the events history.

Two-time champion Gary Anderson also returns to action and will take on the winner of former champion Adrian Lewis and Matt Campbell as he looks to once again reign supreme as world champion following his runner-up finish last year.

This year’s PDC World Darts Championship is shaping up to be a must-watch for all darts and sporting fanatics as the world’s greatest names look to lay claim to the Sid Waddell trophy.

Whether you’re a fan of the theatrical entrances, nail-biting action or raucous yet humorous crowd, this year’s event is seemingly an unmissable broadcast that will all darts fans glued to their screens in eager anticipation to who can call themselves the world champion.






Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers