Home / News > PDC World Cup of Darts 2022

PDC World  Cup of Darts 2022


PDC World Cup of Darts 2022

First established in 2010, the PDC World Cup of Darts has become one of the must-see dart events of the year. Thirty-two nations compete in the event that both showcases the nation's top dart players and an international rivalry.

The top two players from each sporting nation are invited to represent their country in a team format. The World Cup of Darts is screen word wide and attaches millions of viewers from each sporting nation.

Over the past ten years, this sporting event has been sponsored by various bookmakers and betting firms. The 2022 World Cup of Darts, however, will see a new sponsor Cazoo. Cazoo has recently got involved with various sporting events, including snooker, racing, and other major sports featured on TV. Now Cazoo sponsors most of the PDC dart tournaments. Darts have come a long way in the last three decades, with more nations picking up the arrows for the first time.

Darts is now seen as a new sport in some countries, just like online gaming, attracting new players every day. Darts has also gained more commercial opportunities like partnerships with online slot sites allowing it to appeal to much wider audiences. Players and dart fans play online games between matches and during their downtime.


World Cup of Darts Format

The World cup of darts can be broadcast live on Sky Sports in the UK, through the PDC's worldwide broadcast partners, including DAZN and RTL7, and on PDCTV (excluding UK and Netherlands based subscribers).


First Round

The first round consists of the best of nine legs doubles meaning both players will take it in turns to throw. This can upset a rhythm thrower due to the delay between each of the player's throws but adds to the spectacle and tension of each match.


Second Round, Quarter and Semi-Finals

The second round, quarter and semi-finals consist of two best of seven legs singles matches. If the scores are tied, i.e., both nations have one of the singles matches, a best of seven legs doubles match is played to decide a winner.


The Final

A total of three points are needed to win the title. With one point given to a match win, the final is played in the following format. Two best of seven legs singles matches are first played, followed by a best of seven doubles match. If necessary, one or two best of seven legs singles matches in reverse player order are played to determine the World Cup Champion.


Competing Nationals

The 2022 competing nations:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, Germany, Gibraltar, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, USA, Wales


World Cup of Darts Defending Champions

Defending Champions Scotland may keep the same two players as last year. Peter' Snakebite' Wright, the current World PDC Darts Champion, and John Henderson, known as the Highlander. By the PDC order of merit, John isn't the second highest ranked Scottish player. That privilege goes to Gary Anderson. Gary pulled out of last year's event, paving the way for Henderson to take part. Hence the winning duo will be in Germany to defend their crown.

Michael van Gerwen, the former three-time World Darts Champion is unlikely to feature as part of the Netherlands team. Michael is due to undergo surgery on his arm and will miss this year's event.

Michael confirmed he is experiencing a tingling sensation in his throwing hand and arm. He had a medical assessment and was diagnosed with Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. However, in the recent US Masters, Michael was still averaging some top scoring averages. Hence, watch out, players; if Michael isn't on top form now, then he soon will be!


Past PDC World Cup of Darts Champions








2021 Scotland 3 - 1 Austria
2020 Wales 3 - 0 England
2019 Scotland 3 - 1 Republic of Ireland
2018 Netherlands 3 - 1 Scotland
2017 Netherlands 3 - 1 Wales
2016 England 3 - 2 Netherlands
2015 England 3 - 2 Scotland
2014 Netherlands 3 - 0 England
2013 England 3 - 1 Belgium
2012 England 4* - 3* Australia
2010 Netherlands 4 - 2 Wales

* England won the title on the sudden death doubles leg.
1 point allocated to a match win either singles or doubles





Darts Corner - Darts Suppliers