Home / News > PDC Masters 2021


PDC Masters 29-31 Januarury 2021


Professional Darts Corporation – Masters January 29 - 31

The 2021 Professional Darts Corporation (PDC) Master is the first major darts event of the year. Usually, this event features the top sixteen players as featured by the PDC Order of Merit. This year dart fans will be delighted to know the PDC have exerted the invitation to twenty-four top players.

With the increase of players, the event will now boast an additional round and will feature rising talents such as Jose de Sousa, Demetri Van den Bergh and the Polish Eagle, Krzysztof Ratajski. These players have shown why they deserve a place in this line-up, and any one of them could be crowned the PDC Master Champions at the end of the three-day event.

The extra eight players will add extra excitement with many of these players having favourable betting odds. See the bonus offers at best sportsbooks and other exciting sports offers. Due to the increase in the format for the event has also changed. The eight seeded players enter in round-two although there are no easy draws in this event and to pick a winner at this stage is hard to determine.


Players Line up:

First Round

Second Round 

(Ian White v Mensur Suljovic) v Nathan Aspinall
(Glen Durrant v Mervyn King) v Rob Cross
(Dimitri Van den Bergh v Chris Dobey) v James Wade
(Krzysztof Ratajski v Simon Whitlock) v Peter Wright
(Michael Smith v Adrian Lewis) v Gary Anderson
(Daryl Gurney v Jeffrey de Zwaan) v Dave Chisnall
(Jose de Sousa v Jonny Clayton) v Michael van Gerwen
(Joe Cullen v Stephen Bunting) v Gerwyn Price


Defending Champion – Peter Wright

Defending Champions, Peter Wright will not start as the favourite despite having a good 2020 season. Snakebite will face the winner of the first-round match between Krzysztof Ratajski and Simon Whitlock who has also shown a return to form in recent months.

Both Ratajski and Whitlock will be looking to impress as not only the Master title is up for grabs be potentially a place at the Premier League.


Michael van Gerwen

Michael, a five-time winner of the Masters, lost out last year. His performance in the World Championships showed he still has the darts to dominate the sport again. However, Michael fell short of making to the 2021 World Final.

Micheal has now moved to World No.2 by the PDC Order of Merit after holding the No.1 position for the past few years. The young Dutchman will be determined to win back his ranking status and 2021might again be another year of the green machine.


Gerwyn Price

The Ex-rugby star has shown you can switch sports and be successful in both. The Iceman certainly lives up to his name but the pressure mounted with lost of missed doubles in the PDC World Darts Championship final. Never the less, the Welshman was the better player on the day, and he beat the former two-time back-to-back World Champions, Gary Anderson 7 -3 in this year's final.

Gerwyn will attract the punter and the addition of being the current PDC World Champion in equal measure. Not all players can handle being the World Champion as Rob Cross clearly showed when he won his first title in 2018. However, Gerwyn is a different animal, and thrives on the spectators' pressure, when they are allowed to attend!

The Iceman now has a point to prove and will be looking to add to his recent success and who would bet against him winning the Masters for the first time in his career.


Outsiders that have made a recent impact.

A handful of players have used the lock down period due to COVID-19 to good use, which also reflected in the sales of darts equipment to unprecedented levels last year. More people are playing the sport at a social level than ever before, and the global interest has grown significantly, With Germany, Canada, USA, and Asia leading the way. Europe has always been a hotbed for darts, which has given us a few new stars from Belgium and Poland to name just two.

James Wade, Mensur Suljovic and former BDO World Champion all have shown recent good form in addition to one of the oldest competitors Meryn King. However, Meryn has a tough first-round draw against the current premier league champions Glen Durrant.

Glen is slightly going under the radar, and he could be the surprise amongst the pack, although his loyal fans would say this is the case as Glen come with an excellent pedigree having won the BDO World Darts Champions three times and made his mark on the PDC scene in his first year on the circuit.

The PDC Master will, unfortunately, be played behind closed doors due to the COVID pandemic. However, it will behave worldwide live broadcast via several TV channels: Free to air ITV4 / ITVSport in the UK RTL7 and DAZN in Europe and various other channels worldwide. Should you not be able to receive live TV transmission in your Country then you can subscribe to PDCTV for live streaming of the event along with many other events that will feature during 2021




PDC PDC The Masters Past Winners Table

The Masters is a non-ranking PDC event. The tournament features the top 16 PDC players by of Order of Merit, in a fixed draw (1 plays 16, 2 plays 15 etc). The first round and the quarterfinals are played over best of 19 legs, the semi-finals and the final are played over best of 21 legs. In 2021 the number of players was increased to 24








2020 Peter Wright 11 - 10 Michael Smith
2019 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 5 James Wade
2018 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 9 Raymond van Barneveld
2017 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 7 Gary Anderson
2016 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 6 Dave Chisnall
2015 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 6 Raymond van Barneveld
2014 James Wade 11 - 10 Mervyn King
2013 Phil Taylor 10 - 1 Adrian Lewis







Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers