Home / News > World Matchplay 2018

World Matchplay 2018


An Early Look at the World Matchplay: Who Will Get The Win?

You know the summer is almost here when it’s time to start thinking about the World Matchplay at the glorious Winter Gardens in Blackpool.

Following Phil Taylor’s retirement, the trophy is now to be named after the Power, who would have been going in to the tournament as the defending champion after beating Peter Wright in the final.

Wright will want to go one step further this time to claim his very first Matchplay title, although there will be plenty of others aiming to conquer in the North West.

With just a few months until darts’ big summer event, we take a look at the players who will be among the favourites to take the title.

Michael van Gerwen


Michael van Gerwen

Michael van Gerwen was eliminated in the Quarter Final last year by Phil Taylor and the Dutchman will be desperate to secure a third title. Most bookmakers are placing the World Number One as favourite according to https://www.thatsagoal.com/, and we can’t really disagree.

He’s been storming the Premier League so far and will likely go into most tournaments as the top seed.


Rob Cross

Rob Cross stunned the world by claiming the World Championship at the beginning of the year. He reached the last 16 of the Matchplay last year, losing to Adrian Lewis who went on to the Semi Final.

He continues to develop his darts and is perhaps well worth a punt for the summer tournament, particularly if he continues to finish the Premier League strongly.


Gary Anderson

The Flying Scotsman was knocked out in the Second Round last year and has yet to win the tournament. It’s one of the missing pieces from his trophy cabinet having reached the Semi Final in both 2014 and 2016.

He’ll be priced around third favourite with a number of bookies, and you’d expect he’ll be looking to throw some of his best arrows this summer. He’ll certainly be looking to make amends for a poor finish last year, so we’d expect him to reach the latter stages.


Peter Wright


Peter Wright

Another Scot who will be looking to lift the trophy in Blackpool, Peter Wright won’t have Phil Taylor to contend with this summer and will look to go one further than runner up this year.

He’s a regular in the latter stages and reached the Quarter Final in 2016, before that brilliant run last year where he lost to the Power.

We’d expect another good run from Snakebite this year, and wouldn’t be against backing him to go that one step further.




Phil Taylor 2017 World Matchplay Champion


PDC Darts World Matchplay Past Champions

Champion  Score Runner-Up 
TBC - - - TBC
Phil Taylor 18 - 8 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 18–10 Phil Taylor
Michael van Gerwen 18–12 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–9 Michael van Gerwen
Phil Taylor  18–13 Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor  18–15 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–8 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–12 Raymond van Barneveld
Phil Taylor 18–4 Terry Jenkins
Phil Taylor 18–9 James Wade
James Wade 18–7 Terry Jenkins
Phil Taylor  18–11 James Wade
Colin Lloyd 18–12 John Part
Phil Taylor  18–8 Mark Dudbridge
Phil Taylor 18–12 Wayne Mardle
Phil Taylor  18–16 John Part
Phil Taylor 18–10 Richie Burnett
Phil Taylor  18–12 Alan Warriner 
Rod Harrington  19–17 Peter Manley
Rod Harrington 19–17 Ronnie Baxter
Phil Taylor 16–11 Alan Warriner
Peter Evison 16–14 Dennis Priestley
Phil Taylor  16–11 Dennis Priestley
Larry Butler 16–12 Dennis Priestley




Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers