Home / News > PDC World Cup 2019

PDC World Cup 2019

PDC World Cup 2019


PDC World Cup 2019, 6-9th June, Barclaycard Arena, Hamburg, Germany

One of the most popular events in the PDC calendar returns to Hamburg, Germany. The ninth edition of the World Cup with see 32 teams of two players compete for the World Cup’. Defending champions, the Netherlands will be looking to make it three wins in a row. However, they are unlikely to be top seeds.

Rob Cross and Michael Smith with represent England in the World Cup and are likely to be the No.1 seeds this year. However, Gary Anderson has returned from injury, and with his playing partner Peter Wright they also will be one of the leading contenders this year.

The Netherlands team has consisted of the World No.1 and three-time world champion Michael van Gerwen and the five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld. Raymond, however, is likely to be replaced this year due to his lack of form and PDC order of merit ranking. His place is expected to be taken by Jermaine Watterena who is currently placed five positions higher than Barney.

Barney, as fans will know, is currently in his retirement year and has been part of the Netherlands winning team for several years. Whether he will be picked instead of Jermaine is still to be confirmed. Barney may have to win back his position. Many Dutch fans may like to see the most famous Dutch player to pick up a dart play for one last time, and this may still happen.

Fans from across the World will be turning into watch this event. However, during the downtime, you can always have a look at some online games from fairpromocode.bet here you will find many HD video online games and promotions codes that will help you fill the gap.


World Cup Format

Of the 32 team teams, eight teams are seeded, and the remaining 24 teams remain unseeded in the first round.  Unlike previous years there is no group, round robin stage. The 2019 event will be a straight knockout to the final.

The Competing Nations Table

Competing Nations: 2019 World Cup

Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Canada China Czech Rep Denmark
England Finland Germany Gibraltar Greece Hong Kong Hungary Italy
Japan Netherlands New Zealand Nth'n Ireland Philippines Poland Rep of Ireland Russia
Scotland Singapore South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland USA Wales

Seeded Teams (Provisional)

Players seeding is based on the combined two players PDC ranking





1  England Rob Cross and Michael Smith
2  Scotland Peter Wright and Gary Anderson
3  Wales Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton
4  Netherlands Michael van Gerwen and Jermaine Wattimena
5  Australia Simon Whitlock and Kyle Anderson
6  Northern Ireland Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan
7  Belgium Kim Huybrechts and Dimitri Van den Bergh
8  Austria Mensur Suljović and Zoran Lerchbacher

The First Round:

Played in doubles best of nine legs.

The Second Round, Quarter and Semi-Finals:

Will be two best of seven legs singles matches. If the scores are tied a best of seven legs, a doubles match determine a match.

The Final:

Three points needed to win the title. Two best of seven legs singles matches are played followed by a best of seven doubles match. If necessary, one or two best of seven leg singles matches in reverse order are played to determine the champion.


Prize fund

The total prize fund for this year's World cup is £350,000,
Winners £70,000
Runners up £40,000
Semi-Finalist £24,000,
Quarter: £16,000
Last 16: £8,000
Last 32: £4,000



The PDC World Cup can be viewed via Sky TV and various other television channels across the World. If your country is not broadcasting the event, then you can sign-up and watch it via PDCTV live streaming service.


Previous World Cup Winners








2018 Netherlands 3 - 1 Scotland
2017 Netherlands 3 - 1 Wales
2016 England 3 - 2 Netherlands
2015 England 3 - 2 Scotland
2014 Netherlands 3 - 0 England
2013 England 3 - 1 Belgium
2012 England 4* - 3* Australia
2010 Netherlands 4 - 2 Wales

* England won the title on the sudden death doubles leg.
1 point allocated to a match win either singles or doubles





Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers