Home / News > BoyleSports Grand Slam of Darts

BoyleSports Grand Slam of Darts


BoyleSports Grand Slam of Darts

The Grand Slam of Darts is always a prominent feature in the PDC darts Calendar and this year will be no exception. The event features the cream of the PDC and qualifiers from the Women's Series of events plus the top players from the BDO.

Past events haven't been plain sailing for the PDC players, with Scott Waites taking the title back in 2007 for the BDO having previously been the runner-up in 2006. Scott is now part of the PDC so he will have to qualify like many others to compete in this year's event.

Gerwyn Price has dominated the past two years. The rugby star turned professional darts player is exciting to watch and always gives his all when playing in high profile competitions.  Gerwyn currently lies in third place in the order of merit, PDC ranking.

The BoyleSports Grand Slam of Darts is split into two phases, a round-robin mini-league consisting of four players each of eight sections A-H with the top two players progressing to the knockout stages.

If you are a fan and like to bet on darts, there are many opportunities to bet on this event and others that feature throughout the year. Study the player's current form, and if a good player joins the PDC such as Glen Durrant, then you may find you initially will gain some incredible odds.

For the past couple of years, the event has invited two women to play in the event, and again two women will feature. Their entry this year, however, differs from previous years based upon BDO selection. This year there is a free to entry Grand Slam of Darts Qualifiers open to any female player that wishes to take part. Hot favourites will be the current BDO Women's Champion Mikuru Suzuki, the former four-time World Champions Lisa Ashton, and the 'Queen of the Palace' Fallon Sherrock. Fallon has already shown how far the women's games have progressed by winning two rounds the PDC World Championship Stage.

Unlike other players, Lisa Ashton will have two chances to qualify. Lisa gained a PDC tour card in January 2020 and is eligible to compete in both the tour card holds qualifiers knockout and the women's qualifiers.


Players on current form


Michael van Gerwen

Michael van Gerwen has won the Grand Slam of Darts on three occasions. However, his winning streak came to an end when he was knocked out in the early round of the World Matchplay, the World Masters, and World Series of Darts Finals. Michael also didn't qualify for the Premier League Play-off Finals an event he has owned for the previous four years. However, he still reigns as PDC No.1, and few will bet against him winning another Grand Slam title.


Gerwyn Price

Gerwyn could be the man that takes the cream in this event. The Welshman is on top form, and a third back-to-back win of the Grand Slam will be in his sites. His recent World Series of Darts win over Rob Cross was inspiring, and he will be hard to beat. Gerwyn's scoring power might be too much for some to handle and I tip him to do well.


Wayne Warren

Wayne took the 2020 BDO World title and should feature highly in the Grand Slam of Darts. Wayne decided not to go to PDC Q-School in January, something he may now regret. Wayne has been a player on the BDO circuit for many years, and although the BDO World title doesn't hold the status it once did, it is still a World Title. Many of Wayne's fans will hope he can perform as well as he did in the Worlds when he takes on the PDC players. However, with the lack of competition, Wayne may be a little match rusty. One to watch? Maybe!


Peter Wright

Peter has fallen off the radar a bit, but he is the current PDC World Champion and looking for more titles. He has been the bridesmaid at too many tournaments, most of them lost to 'Might Mike' Michael van Gerwen. Peter is renowned for changing his darts and in some cases, mid-match! Which makes it a little difficult to judge Peter fully. Even if he is on a winning streak, he may change his dart equipment in some way. That said, Peter will be in the runner in what seems an open field for 2020.


Nathan Aspinall.

Nathan Aspinall is a young player that started to make his mark in 2019 seriously. Winning his first PDC major title, the UK Open, he has gone from strength to strength. Nathan nearly gave up the sport when he said he only had £25.00 left in his pocket. However, fortunes change, and over the past two years, he has earned just under half a million in prize money and now has a darts sponsor, Target Darts. He currently ranks sixth in the PDC Order of Merit.


Glen Durrant

Glen has undoubtedly made his mark since joining the PDC in 2019. Although Glen is currently ranked at No.13, he is now considered one of the best players in the PDC. He has beaten Michael van Gerwen serval times since moving to the PDC. Glen regards Michal as the best player in the world at this current time, but maybe he is losing his crown.

It would be no surprise to dart fans if Glen took the BoyleSport Grand Slam of Darts title and his recent form would suggest he is now likely to draw some short odds. 




PDC Previous Winniners - Grand Slam of Darts









2019 Gerwyn Price PDC 16 - 6 Peter Wright PDC
2018 Gerwyn Price PDC 16 - 13 Gary Anderson PDC
2017 Michael van Gerwen PDC 16 - 12 Peter Wright PDC
2016 Michael van Gerwen PDC 16 - 8 James Wade PDC
2015 Michael van Gerwen PDC 16 - 13 Phil Taylor PDC
2014 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 13 Dave Chisnall PDC
2013 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 6 Robert Thornton PDC
2012 Raymond van Barneveld PDC 16 - 14 Michael van Gerwen PDC
2011 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 4 Gary Anderson PDC
2010 Scott Waites BDO 16 - 12 James Wade PDC
2009 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 2 Scott Waites BDO
2008 Phil Taylor PDC 18 - 9 Terry Jenkins PDC
2007 Phil Taylor PDC 18 - 11 Andy Hamilton PDC




Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers